BREAKING: President Donald Trump signs new immigration order

US President Donald Trump has signed a revised immigration order restricting entry into the U.S. by people from six predominantly Muslim countries, Bloomberg reports.

An administration official confirmed that Trump signed the new order on Monday morning.

The new order excludes Iraq from the initial list of seven countries whose citizens cannot travel to the U.S. for the next 90 days.

Trump adviser Kellyanne Conway said legal residents were always excluded from the entry ban, “but that’s made much more clear now.”

“If you have travel docs, if you actually have a visa, if you are a legal permanent resident, you are not covered under this particular executive action.”

Conway also confirmed that Iraq has been removed from the list of seven Muslim nations initially released.

Syrian refugees will ace the same 120-day ban as refugees from other countries, pending a review of screening procedures, Conway said.

They had initially been banned in the previous order.

Secretary of State Rex Tillerson, Attorney General Jeff Sessions and Homeland Security Secretary John Kelly are scheduled to deliver statements on the new order.

Recall that a federal court had blocked Trump’s previous immigration order.


Source: YNaija