2nd Ministerial List: Saraki Unveils Names

Senate President, Bukola Saraki has announced to the senators names of nominees in the 2nd batch ministerial list.

The list which was submitted to the senate yesterday by President Muhammadu Buhari, contained 16 names.

Among names mentioned are:

Adamu Adamu (Bauchi), Hajia Bukar Ibrahim, the former first lady of Yobe State (Yobe); Senator Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa);  James Ocholi, SAN (Kogi); Anthony Anwuka, a professor of education administration, who was secretary to the government of Imo state; and Isaac Adewole, a professor of obstetrics and gynaecology.

Others are Dan Ali, a brigadier-general who was retired in 2013; Okechukwu Enelamah, the CEO of African Capital Alliance.

Credit: Vanguard

2nd Ministerial List: Names Likely To Appear

President Muhammadu Buhari yesterday forwarded to the Senate an additional list of 15 ministerial nominees, bringing the total to 36.

A report gathered last night provides that some of the new nominees include Adamu Adamu, Khadija Bukar Abba (wife of former Yobe State governor and current senator, Bukar Abba Ibrahim) and Hadiza Musa (who works at the Presidency).

Also, the Senate Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions handling the petitions written against Rotimi Amaechi and Amina Mohammed by petitioners from Rivers and Kaduna states gave them subtle clearance for screening by the Senate along with 19 other nominees earlier forwarded to the Senate by President Buhari.

The additional list of ministerial nominees received by the Senate yesterday was confirmed to journalists yesterday by the senior special assistant to the president on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Ita Enang.

According to Ita Enang, the list, like the earlier one given to the Senate president, Bukoka Saraki, on September 30, was jointly delivered to Saraki by him, along with the chief of staff to the president, Abba Kyari, and the senior special assistant to the president on National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives), Hon Abdulrahman Kawu Sumaila, at about 4:24pm.

Read More: leadership