NPA reiterates Presidential directive on reduction of agencies at the Ports

The Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) hereby reiterates the subsistence of a 2011 Presidential directive for the reduction of the number of agencies that are to operate and have physical representation at the ports to eight.

The  directive communicated to the Managing Director of the NPA in a 26th October, 2011 memo from the  Federal Ministry of Transportation, listed the eight approved agencies as: Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA); Nigerian Customs Service (NCS); Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA); Nigeria Police; Department of State Security (DSS); Nigerian Immigration Service (NIS) and Port Health.

It also stated that while the Nigerian Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) should remain at the ports, a methodology which would ensure that only relevant cargoes are inspected by the agency, should be worked out.

Other agencies not mentioned in the list above should remain outside the port premises while the Authority develops standard procedures to facilitate their seamless operation.

The NPA remains committed to the determination of the President Muhammadu Buhari administration to improve the ease of doing business in the country, the implementation of the Executive Orders recently issued by Acting President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo as well as the improvement of conditions under which business is carried out in all ports across the country.

We solicit for the kind support of all agencies and stakeholders in the Nigerian maritime sector towards actualising the noble goal of making Nigeria a destination of choice for all legitimate businesses.

About the author

Adeeko Ademola

Fiery Writer • Online Publicist • Content Manager • Entrepreneur • Patriotic Nigerian