Lagos Lawmakers Fight Tinubu Over Speakership

Elected members of the Lagos State House of Assembly under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) are set to clash with the national leader of the party, Bola Tinubu over  who succeeds Adeyemi Ikuforiji as Speaker of the House. The lawmakers have rejected Tinubu’s anointed candidate for the post, Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni.

Tinubu’s attempts to force the other candidates to step down for Sanni have been rebuffed. The candidates have insisted that they are going ahead with their aspirations.

The other contenders for the speakership race are Adefunmilayo Tejuoso, Mudasiru Obasa, Lanre Osun, Rotimi Abiru and Lanre Ogunyemi.

Tinubu is also facing resistance from Ikuforiji, who prefers to give the position to his stooge and ally, Abiru, in order to fully cover his tracks after leaving office.

Read More: Vanguard

About the author

Didi Adams

Writer, Brand Strategist, Media Professional and Deep Thinker.