Fintiri Suspends Lawmakers That “Impeached” Him

The Adamawa state House of Assembly under the leadership of Speaker, Umaru Fintiri, has suspended five of the nine lawmakers that contrived his impeachment ?at? a parallel sitting last Tuesday.

Members affected by the suspension were Abuzarri Ribadu (Yola South constituency), Jerry Kumdisi (Gombi constituency), Wale Fwa (Demsa constituency), Simon Issa (Song Constituency) and Salihu Kabillo (Verre constituency).

Sequel to the suspension, Mr. Fintiri, last week, constituted a committee to investigate his purported impeachment by the nine lawmakers at the Government House, Yola.

Following the submission of the report by the chairman of the committee and member representing Guyuk constituency, Wilbina Jackson, the house adopted the suspension of five lawmakers that participated in the impeachment.

The members have been suspended till June 8 when the tenure of the 7th assembly will elapse.

Mr. Fintiri also urged the Independent National Electoral Commission to conduct a by-election in Nassarawo Binyeri, Toungo and Jada Mbulo constituencies as a result of a resolution of the house to declare their seats vacant following their cross carpeting to other political parties.

The speaker also constituted a five man investigation committee, chaired by the member representing Uba Gaya constituency, to investigate a N2billion agric loan collected by the state government on behalf of Adamawa farmers.

The loan was allegedly diverted to other uses.

Mr. Fintiri adjourned the sitting till May 18 with a call on the security personnel to protect the house and all properties of the assembly while they are on recess


About the author

Didi Adams

Writer, Brand Strategist, Media Professional and Deep Thinker.