North’s battle against Jonathan takes new turn

Prominent Northern politicians are the brains behind the newly registered Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM) in what is the clearest indication yet from the North about its intention to give President Goodluck Jonathan a run for his money in the 2015 presidential race.

The PDM was registered yesterday alongside Independent Democrats (ID) by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), 24 hours after news broke of the filing of an application for registration by the group founded by the late General Shehu Yar’Adua.

Top on the list of the major promoters of the newly registered PDM is Alhaji Bashir Yusuf Ibrahima who is also a member of the Northern Political Leaders’ Forum(NPLF) led by ex-Minister Adamu Ciroma.

He is the protem National Chairman of the party.

Some former ministers in the cabinet of ex-President Olusegun Obasanjo and serving senators and members of the House of Representatives are also said to be bankrolling the PDM.

Former Vice President Atiku Abubakar who was initially mentioned as one of the promoters of the party said on Thursday he remained in the PDP, but said he could not stand in the way of any of his supporters who might want to join the PDM.

Its registration has the potential to be a major political changer as many aggrieved members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) from the North are likely to defect to the new party.

Confirming the registration of the PDM and ID yesterday, INEC Secretary, Mrs. A.C. Ogakwu, said: “The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has registered two new political parties in accordance with the provisions of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as Amended) and the Electoral Act 2010 (as Amended).

“The newly registered parties are the Independent Democrats (ID) and the Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM).

“The constitution, manifesto, logo/flag and list of national executive ffficers of each party have also been approved by the commission.”

The commission last night posted on its website the names of officials of the new parties as follows:

PDM- National Chairman, Bashir Yusuf Ibrahim; National Secretary, Dr. Joseph O. Akinwumi; National Treasurer, Gagogo Emmanuel; National Financial Secretary, Aku Cecilia Betzom; and National Legal Adviser, Barr. Kabiru Umaru Dodo.

ID:National Chairman, Edozie Madu; National Secretary, Tobi Adeniyi; National Treasurer, Ahanmisi Izegwuma Abigail; National Financial Secretary, Whetode Desire; and National Legal Adviser, Charles Ibeh.

Source: The Nation

About the author


In the beginning...Let there be Light

Leave a Comment